Sometimes You Need to Saddle Up in January

ride to Silver Creek JunctionIt’s been a while and quite a few rides that didn’t get added. Nevertheless, it was a fun (but very busy) summer. The other day Phil called to see if I was done working and up for a quick ride before it got dark and too cold. Since I was finished with work for the day we shot up Parley’s Canyon to Silver Creek Junction and back.

An hour or so well spent. It’s been a month or two since I’ve been on the bike and it was great to feel the wind in my face as we recharged our batteries in preparation for a potential weekend ride. Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t very cooperative, so we didn’t get out, but there’s always another ride and another day to look forward to.Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 4.57.01 PM

This time of year I’m always appreciative of a break in the weather that allows us to climb on the bikes and spend a couple hours on the road.

Yesterday it still felt like early spring in January, so Kelly and I saddled up for an afternoon on the road. We made a quick trip up to the Harley store to pick up a part Kelly needed for a project he’s going to work on over the next few weeks, and then decided to take advantage of the faux-spring weather and headed down the west side of Utah Lake—one of our normal mid-winter destinations.

Not long after leaving Saratoga Springs rays of sun streaking through the clouds reminded me of something you’d see in an old Monty Python movie. I half expected to be sent on a grail quest. But our quest was to watch a few miles pass underneath us as the temperatures dropped. Despite the cold weather, the ride got me really excited for spring and the road trips we have scheduled and have been talking about this year.

My 2015 Touring Handbook arrived in the mail yesterday and sitting down with the map of Utah. with the exception of a couple of roads in the south-eastern corner of the state, I’ve been on every road on the map. Needless to say, I know what I’ll be doing for at least one ride this year. I need to finish the map.

Leave a comment

Filed under Utah Rides

Leave a Reply

