Searching for the Sun: Bullhead City, AZ to Cedar City, UT

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 8.58.35 PM303 miles of “I could do this all day.”

The warmer temperatures in Arizona made it easy to hit the road early as we mounted up for the ride back to Cedar City. At about 55 degrees at 7:00 am, we decided to put some miles behind us before breakfast and thought we might stop in Searchlight for our bacon and eggs.

The ride from Bullhead City to Boulder City was pleasant, but once we left Boulder for the ride along the lake it turned into pure bliss. The road reminds me of a canyon pass—without the pass. I think one of the things I like about roads within the National Parks is that they tend to follow the contours of the landscape, hence they tend to be perfect for riding a motorcycle. This little stretch of road has become one of my favorites. When we were done and found ourselves in Overton, I couldn’t help but think, “May I have some more please?”

After a a brief stretch on I-15 again, we left the highway at Littlefield and points north. Another great little road. As we pulled off at the junction to Gunlock, we stopped the bikes, and I realized I got exactly what I had asked for in Overton.

I don’t think I’ll ever take I-15 though the gorge again. At least I’ll need to be in a pretty big hurry to do so. This was such a pleasant way to ride from Las Vegas into Utah. A great way to waste a couple of days in February or March. We’ll definitely do it again.

The ride through Gunlock up to Veyo was another beautiful ride along the river bed and past the reservoir. The temperatures remained pretty constant throughout the day as the low temps in the morning in Bullhead City were the high temps as we got closer to Cedar. We stopped there for lunch before continuing north to Enterprise and into town.

We had dinner at a great place up Cedar Canyon called Milt’s. My fillet was melt-in-your-mouth tasty.

We’ve ridden in more scenic territory, but we’ve never ridden on highways that were any more fun that what we we’ve done over the last couple of days. We’ll head up over Cedar Canyon in the morning and drop down to Hwy 89 for the ride home. I love riding on 89. It will be a great way to wrap up our search for the sun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Western Rides

Leave a Reply

