Hwy 89 From Salina Through Richfield

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 9.37.54 PMLast week I mentioned that staying off the Interstate got a little problematic through Richfield. On the way back through town a couple of days ago, Amanda and I did a little exploring and found a route that I think solves the problem.

Coming from the north, instead of following 89 all the way through Salina which is where it joins up with I-70 for a while, at the main intersection (you’ll see Mom’s Cafe on the left) turn right onto Highway 50.

Highway 50 is another one of those great old roads that has been consumed by Interstate in many places. In its heyday, it was the first transcontinental highway from San Francisco to the East Coast (but that’s another story).

You’ll see two options to head south off of 50, but the second one is a great little road that takes you through the little town of Aurora. On a quiet Sunday morning, we had the road all to ourselves. Follow that road to the frontage road (in some places it’s called the Sevier Highway) until you reach Main Street in Richfield. It’s not marked, but Main Street is the old Highway 89.

If you’re like me, I try to avoid the rush of the Interstate as much as I can. The little towns that dot the route remind me of a quieter time, when the pace of life was less hectic. Some of these little towns have been able to keep the charm of the days before I-15, others are disappearing right before our eyes. I try to gas up, buy a soda or candy bar as I pass through, if nothing else than to add a few dollars from outside of the community. I would hate to see a day when towns like Marysvale, Circleville, and Smith disappear forever.

2 Comments

Filed under Utah Rides

2 responses to “Hwy 89 From Salina Through Richfield

  1. Harlan, a.k.a.Nevadasun

    Next time your in Richfield you may want to try the “Wonder Cafe” down town, a great little place to eat.

Leave a Reply

