Grand Canyon Adventure: Richfield, UT to Home

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 4.19.42 PMAmanda and I thought the best place on the road to have breakfast on Mother’s Day had to be Mom’s Cafe in Salina. Leaving Richfield for home, Salina is only a short 24 or 25 miles, so we were quickly on our way.

Cheryl, our waitress, recommended the bacon, “You’ve got to try the bacon,” she said. “Most people don’t serve bacon like this.”

Combined with some scrambled eggs, hash-browns, and toast, she was right. After a delicious breakfast we climbed on the bike for home.

In rural Utah most of the folks are at church on a Sunday morning, so we pretty much had the road to ourselves. The fields and the trees are starting to green up—more so than I remember just three days ago as we passed through here on our way to the Grand Canyon. Spring is certainly here and summer is hot on it’s heels. The forecast for next week is for the 90s, which means our day or two of spring has seen its day.

Moms-CafeEpic is the only word that even comes close to describing our Grand Canyon Adventure. I’ve come to really appreciate the smell of a fresh rain on the hot asphalt, cotton from the cottonwoods blowing across the road, the sun on my face at the end of a rainy day, my beautiful daughter behind me on the motorcycle, and the company and conversations with an old friend at the end of a long day. I’m a pretty lucky man.

My tastes are simple, so roadhouse food appeals to me. I love the friendly nature of my fellow travelers as we chat about where we’re going and where we’ve been. The chance to slow down the pace of life and spend some quiet time in my own head is somehow therapeutic as the miles unroll beneath my feat.

IMG_2875_1My motorcycle did what at it was designed to do without a single stutter. I couldn’t be happier with the way it carried my precious daughter and I well over 1100 miles in five days. My kudos to the engineers who designed her to be such a safe and reliable machine.

The Grand Canyon is just that, grand. As I peered into the depths and tried to follow the course of the Colorado River below, I found myself thinking, “Well done God. This is really something.” There’s a reason this spot is considered one of the seven wonders of the world—a well-deserved designation in my opinion.

A mile or two away from home while stopped at a stoplight, Amanda said, “It’s kind of bitter sweet, isn’t it?”

It’s always nice to be home, but our adventure was now over. Tomorrow it’s back to work and setting aside the pleasures of the open road for a while. Steve and I are thinking it might be fun to meet up in the northwest corner of Wyoming to ride around up there. It’s about 1/2 way between where he lives in Canada and where I live if we go north on 89. I hear there are some things to see in that part of Wyoming.

4 Comments

Filed under Utah Rides, Western Rides

4 responses to “Grand Canyon Adventure: Richfield, UT to Home

  1. Steve

    Things? In Wyoming? Sounds like we’d better check out those things! I’d like to do the entire loop. I’ve only seen the west half…

    A few years ago a couple of friends and I rode our bicycles through that corner of Wyoming. It was a great ride! I busted a spoke at one of the viewpoints, and after the repair as we were riding back onto the road a guy on a very loud Harley was also pulling out. I nodded and asked him if he wanted a race, then just hammered on the pedals as hard as I could. It was a downhill slope, so I managed to get a pretty good jump on him. He waved as he roared by only a hundred yards down the road, but I think I won a little respect. I’d love to be the guy on the loud motorcycle this time around!

  2. Your on. Sounds like a fun trip. When are we going?

  3. Steve

    Hmmm. August? September? I’ll be headed back north by mid-October, so sometime before then, if possible?

Leave a Reply

