Nebo Loop Fall 2012

The Nebo Loop is one of my favorite rides in Utah any time of year, but I particularly enjoy it in the fall. Today was no exception as a number of friends and I got up early and headed South to conquer the loop today. Instead of taking the freeway, we opted to cruise down the West side of Utah Lake to Elberta and then through Santaquin and Payson to catch the road over the Nebo Loop.

There were a couple of times I wondered if we should be wearing orange vests as the road and campgrounds were full of deer hunters striving to fill freezers with steaks and venison. I think there was more traffic on the loop than I have ever seen before.

Although the peak for fall colors has past, the lower parts of the canyon were still clothed in orange and scarlet. As we climbed the winding road to the summit the naked trees reached heavenward as a beautiful blue sky and sunshine warmed our faces. I couldn’t help but think that the good riding days for this year are fast fading as fall winds start to blow cold in the evenings and the air is crisp in the mornings. I hope there are a few more weekends to hit the road before the snow starts to fly.

I probably spend most of my time on the road alone, but there is something to the company of good friends as we ride, eat, and spend time together. Today was particularly enjoyable because of the company. We even had a new member of the group today. It was nice to meet a neighbor who I likely wouldn’t have met without the bikes and the ride.

Leave a comment

Filed under Utah Rides

Leave a Reply

