Wolfman Motorcycle Luggage

I’m a big fan of equipment that works exactly as claimed. The Wolfman Expedition Dry Duffel Bags do exactly that.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to pack my tent and sleeping bag inside my tourpack. And, I didn’t want to just strap a bunch of misc stuff to the seat, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I can’t remember how I stumbled onto the Wolfman Motorcycle site, but Sue would claim I just spend too much time online. This time, I came across what for me has become an essential piece of equipment for any road trip.

“We went all out on these duffels and came up with a great series of roll-top 100% waterproof bags designed specifically for motorcycle use. When we introduced the Expedition Dry Duffel in 2009, we received amazing customer response and realized that we needed to expand the line,” says the Wolfman website.

My tent (an older REI Half Dome) and my sleeping bag fit perfectly inside the Medium bag:

Medium Expedition Dry Duffel:
Width: 24”
Height: 11 ½” (with the ability to get taller)
Front-to-back: 11 ½”
Capacity: 40 Liters+

The bags come either yellow as pictured above, or black as pictured on the photo of my bike below.

I only wish I had bought the bigger bag. I ended up strapping my Thermarest pad on top. However, traveling in the Pacific Northwest, I was worried about stuff getting wet. Fortunately, we didn’t see any rain, but this dry duffel does so many other things really well that I didn’t mind at all that it didn’t have to prove itself keeping my stuff dry.

My gear slipped in and out of the bag easily. At 24″ wide it was the perfect size for my tent (if I had a little bit smaller sleeping bag, I would have been able to fit even more stuff in the bag). The 11″ width fit perfectly between the backrest on my seat and the tourpack—I hardly even noticed it was there.

It included straps to secure it to the bike, which conveniently wrapped around the chrome frame that holds my leather tourpack. I don’t think the bag ever moved while it was on the bike. The roll-top opening included a strap on each of the vertical ends and two more compression straps that went over the top of the bag. You can see from the photo, I used the compression straps to secure my sleeping pad and my jacket (the temperature on our trip fluctuated from cool to “butt-frosty” cold in the morning to hot in the afternoon depending on where we were).

On those nights when we stayed in a hotel, I undid the two buckles attaching the pack to my rack and carried it into the room like a suitcase. After a week on the road, I couldn’t be happier with the bag. Originally intended for on/off road expedition touring, it was probably overkill for what I needed—but it worked flawlessly and has become a permanent part of my touring setup. At only $114.99 for the medium bag I purchased (a little more for the bigger size and a little less for the smaller size) it was money well spent. I’m sure this bag will see more use as time goes on.

There was other equipment I used on this ride that I have come to rely on (my REI Half Dome tent and Slumberjack sleeping bag to name a couple), but my Wolfman Dry Duffel Bag is at the top of my list for this trip.

Wolfman makes all kinds of bags (tank bags, duffels, saddle bags, etc.) that will keep your gear dry and attached to your bike.  The bags are made in the USA and do exactly what they are designed to do. If you do any kind of motorcycle touring, you should check them out at WolfmanLuggage.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gear Review, Western Rides

Leave a Reply

