Ely, NV to Salt Lake City

I wasn’t really looking forward to the ride home.

One more day on the road and our trip was over. We were headed into country we had all ridden before. Once we hit Delta, UT the fun of exploration would be over.

We left Ely after breakfast and headed across the desert for the border. It felt like the west desert of Utah—very familiar—as we cruised southwest headed to our last passport stamp and home.

I’m not sure why I enjoy the idea of windmills and wind-farms so much, but the windmills between Ely and Delta were fun to see. I like the idea of creating electricity without burning fossil fuels. Every gallon we save is one more gallon I can burn in my gas tank (I know it doesn’t work that way, but it’s fun to think about it that way).

We passed Sevier Lake on the way to Delta, which I had never seen before. I remember reading about it in Jr. High. The lake sits at the lowest point of the Sevier Desert and like the Great Salt Lake is a remnant of Lake Bonneville, a prehistoric lake about the size of Lake Michigan that covered much of Utah and even some of the surrounding states. Although we didn’t stop, I had always wanted to see this sometimes-there-sometimes-not lake I’d been reading about since I was a young boy.

Leamington, UT

After gassing up in Delta we pointed our bikes at Nephi and headed over the pass (Highway 132) through Leamington UT. The short mountain pass is a pleasant ride and offers a great view from the top into Nephi, but the feature I like most is the old Phillips 66 gas station alongside the road. After stopping for a photo, we rode into Nephi and on to Santaquin and the Family Tree Restaurant for lunch. Yelp may only give it three stars, but I have eaten there several times and haven’t had anything I didn’t like. The food is homemade, tasty and really hits the spot.

The Interstate home from Santaquin was some of the busiest highway I’d been on for a week, but I have to admit it was good to be home. I’m just trying to figure out when we can do this trip again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Western Rides

Leave a Reply

