Utah’s West Desert

Crossing the old Pony Express trail

Life got in the way of my ride on Saturday. And since that time, with the exception of Monday, it’s been just too darn cold to go anywhere on the bike. Because I missed Saturday’s ride, I thought I’d revisit a ride I did a couple of months ago before we started this blog.

From April of 1860 to October of 1861 the Pony Express carried mail from St. Joseph, Missouri to Sacramento, California. Before the telegraph, the Pony Express was the most direct means to send a message to points west. During the 18 months they were in operation, it reduced the time it took for mail to reach California from weeks or months to about ten days.

Over the Labor Day Weekend, I headed out into the west desert and found myself crossing the old Pony Express route. It’s a pretty lonely road now, I can only imagine what it must have been like in 1861.

Traffic is light (pretty much non-existent) and the two-lane is quiet—making for a great ride through Eureka, Vernon and Rush Valley. It’s not the same as blasting up one of the beautiful canyons, but if you want to be alone, it’s a great ride with some interesting history.

Next Spring, Paul and I are thinking about heading further west via Highway 50, which pretty much parallels the Pony Express route across Nevada. They call it the Loneliest Road in America, but I think it will be a fun ride.

To see a couple of other pictures from the ride, click HERE.

—Ty

3 Comments

Filed under Utah Rides

3 responses to “Utah’s West Desert

  1. I love riding anywhere in the west. I love not having to deal with a lot of traffic and can just enjoy the scenery. I’ve rode a little in Utah (Southern) but I really want make it the main destination on one of our trips. It is beautiful country…

    • You are right, Southern Utah is beautiful, but there are some beautiful canyons to ride in as well. I have a son who lives in Ft. Worth, I’d like to ride down there sometime too.

      • There are a lot of good places to ride in Texas. I haven’t rode all of them yet but I’m working on that. I have blogged about a lot of them. When you do get around to riding Texas, I’ll be glad to share what I know. Thanks for the reply… Ivan

Leave a Reply

