Mt. Nebo Redux

Bald Mountain Overlook on Nebo Loop

Last weekend’s ride over the Nebo Loop was so much fun, I decided that it would be a great ride for Saturday. I wanted to take a more casual pace, stop and take a few photographs and come home via Mt. Pleasant and Fairview instead of Nephi and the Interstate. I left the house somewhere between 8:30 and 9:00 am and headed south via 1-15 through Utah County to Payson.

Because of work on the freeway, I would prefer to spend as little time as possible on the Interstate though Utah County (I prefer the quieter roads anyway). However, despite all the construction, traffic was light and I didn’t feel like I was taking my life into my own hands through the larger Utah County towns. It wasn’t long before I was off the Interstate and cruising through the little hamlets of Benjamin and Salem on my way to the mouth of Payson Canyon.

Sri-Sri-Radha Krsna Temple

Riding south through Salem, you can’t help but notice on the right the Sri-Sri-Radha Krisna Temple perched on a hill overlooking the highway. One of the major religions of the world, nearly all of India’s population (900 or so million people are Hindu), with another 20 million followers throughout the rest of the world. With that said, I was surprised to see a Hare Krishna Temple in the middle of rural Utah.

After becoming Krishna Conscious, Christopher Warden, originally from New Jersey, devoted himself to speaking about Krishna Consciousness to the people of Australia (where he and his wife lived at the time). In 1982, a few years after returning to the U.S., the opportunity to purchase a 1,000 watt AM station in Utah County was the draw to locate a temple in Utah, where his enjoyment of public speaking and broadcasting would give him the opportunity to further share information about the Krishnas.

Payson Canyon

The road up Payson Canyon was beautiful. Though many of the leaves had fallen since the previous weekend’s ride, It’s hard to top the Nebo Loop on a motorcycle. Horse-trailers and hunters were out in force and the smell of campfires lingered in the air—reminding me that this will probably be the last ride of the season over Nebo.

The view from the road

After dropping down from the 9,000 foot summit of the ride, instead of taking a right into Nephi I chose left to Moroni, Mt. Pleasant and Fairview for a ride home via Hwy 89. Around lunch time I spotted a little cafe in Fairview called the Home Plate Cafe. In rural Utah, most everyone drives a pickup truck, many of which were parked outside the Home Plate. Thinking, “If so many locals eat there, it must be good,” I stopped for lunch.

The place was full, but not to overflowing and the seat yourself laid back attitude of the place appealed to me. When asked about lunch, the waitress said, “Most people like the breakfast.”

That was good enough for me. At her suggestion I had a delicious Denver Omelet and left very satisfied. Paul and I like to find little out-of-the-way places like this, so I will definitely be introducing him to the omelets next time we’re through Fairview.

Outside of Mapleton

After dropping down through Spanish Fork Canyon I decided to follow Hwy 89 the rest of the way to Lehi before I caught the Interstate again for home. In the middle of Mapleton, I saw this old reminder of a disappearing era; and thought about Friday’s ride through the fields of Summit County asking myself again, “Does it get any better than this?”

—Ty

6 Comments

Filed under Utah Rides

6 responses to “Mt. Nebo Redux

  1. Steve

    Please save just a LITTLE fun for me!

  2. I love the pictures, not only this post but all I’ve seen here so far. Thanks…

  3. Pingback: Cruising the Nebo Loop | Quiet Roads

Leave a Reply

